Actualités   |  


Shandra Apondi wins the ‘ACP-EU Culture’ Award at the Mobile Film Festival 2023

The Mobile Film Festival 2023 ended with the awards ceremony, which took place in Rabat (Morocco) on 8 June. For this second African edition, 54 finalists from 21 African countries took part in the competition, based on the famous principle of “one film, one minute, one mobile phone”. What are the prizes? Nine awards and a cash prize. A six-member jury, chaired by comedian Gad Elmaleh, selected nine winners in various categories.

This year, the ACP-EU Culture programme joined the festival as a partner, alongside UCLG Africa, the Moroccan Ministry of Culture and UNESCO.

Shandra Apondi, director of the film “Pasawaaad-Password“, was presented with the ACP-EU Culture award of USD 5 00 by the EU Ambassador to Morocco, Patricia Llombart Cussac. The grant will enable the winner to make a short film using professional resources, which could also facilitate her access to support from international funds and her participation in high-profile film festivals.

Shandra Apondi is an actress and director from Kenya. She began her filmmaking career in style last year. Her first short film won her the prize for best direction of a student film at the Women in Film Award, a platform that aims to bring together women filmmakers in Kenya and provide a space where the diversity of women’s voices, stories and creativity is also recognised and celebrated.

Discover the winners of the Mobile Film Festival Africa 2023:

  • The Africa Grand Award: I Have a Dream Too by Sunday Mapya (Tanzania) – USD 10,000.
  • The Moroccan Grand Award was won by Le gardien des murs by director Kamal Lougleb (Morocco) – USD 10,000.
  • The French Film Award: Le rêve d’une presqu’île by director Nelly Behanzin (Benin) – USD 5,000.
  • The Screenplay Award: Like a Matchstick by Sami Iskander (Egypt) – USD 5,000.
  • The African Director’s Award: La vie en rose by Vanessa Pellegrin (Morocco).
  • The Best Actress Award: Kenza Salahddine in “La vie en rose” (Morocco).
  • The Documentary Film Award: Blindness by Bongani Ndaba (South Africa).
  • The Democratic Republic of Congo Award: Les héros de la nature by Gael Bolila (DRC).



Voulez-vous être tenus au courant des activités du programme ? Abonnez-vous à notre lettre d’information